Google+

For Once I’ve Made Some New Year Resolutions

1

January 13, 2014 by mtteaton

This photo, taken by Marcus Yam of the Seattle Times, is way better than the view I had of the fireworks on New Year's Eve. Image from http://seattletimes.com/html/picturethis/2022570856_newyearscelebrationinseattle.html

This photo, taken by Marcus Yam of the Seattle Times, is way better than the view I had of the fireworks on New Year’s Eve. Image found here.

It’s halfway through the month of January, so I suppose I’m a little late on this, but who cares?  Any time is a good time to make resolutions for one’s self.  Aside from the regular “exercise more” and “eat healthier” (I’m trying to do those too), here are a few of my resolutions for this year.

1. Be More Thoughtful when Enjoying Media

I watch a fair amount of films and television programs and generally read quite a few books, but I have a tendency to zone out a bit while doing so.  There’s a lot we can learn from media, whether it’s something that helps us grow as a person, or just learn more about the time in which that piece of entertainment was made.  I’d like to more fully enjoy the things I watch and read, and ideally expand my mind a bit while doing so.

2. Pay More Attention to Current Events and Less Attention to “Noise”

I’d like to be more discerning of which websites I choose to read and get information from, and begin visiting news sites more often.  This means avoiding the “click bait” sort of stuff you can find on Buzzfeed and other sites.

3. Explore

I’d like to visit more museums (especially those that are off the beaten path) and hike more.  Washington has such beautiful scenery; as still a somewhat new resident, I’d like to see more of it.

4. Say “Yes, and…”

I’ve been taking improv classes lately, which I really enjoy.  This is one of the first things you learn, and it’s something that applies to life as well.  Anytime something doesn’t go the way that was originally planned, or running away seems like the only option, accept what just happened and improve upon it.

Those are my main resolutions, what are yours?  Do you even have any?  In the past, I’ve typically avoided making New Years resolutions, simply because so many people fail to see them through.  That said, I think these should be pretty darn attainable.

One thought on “For Once I’ve Made Some New Year Resolutions

  1. Jim English says:

    One of the things I like so much about you. You plan goals that are attainable and then reach for them. Good luck on all your goals Matt. No – I did not set any goals for for new years. I just try to keep my nose clean and keep moving down the path in the best way that I can.

Leave a Reply

